Archive for the ‘Baseball Card Collecting’ Category

Ivey Wingo in the 1910 T210 Old Mill Red Border Set

Friday, May 4th, 2007

A few days ago, I acquired my first 1910 T210 Old Mill card. While I do not have the card in hand yet, I am very excited because the card is of Red Legs catcher Ivey Wingo. Surprisingly, this piece of information has eluded card collectors for some time. None of the major card catalog sites mentioned this until now. I took it upon my self to make the change to the checklist.

In 1909, Wingo signed to play with the Greenville franchise of the Class-D Carolina Association. Late in 1910, Roger Bresnahan, a future Hall of Fame member, and the St. Louis Cardinals, purchased Wingo’s contract from Greenville. The rest, as they say, is history.

Containing 640 cards, the T210 Old Mill set is easily the largest 20th-Century tobacco baseball card set. Each card measures approximately 1-1/2″ by 2-5/8″ and was included in a pack of American Tobacco Company Old Mill Cigarettes. The set was issued in eight separate series. Each series represented players from a specific Minor League. I’ll list the details following this post.

In any event, the cards are easy to identify on site. On each card, the player’s image is surrounded by a distinct red border. Similar to the 1909-11 T206 White Border set, the player’s last name and team affiliation are displayed at the front. On the back of the card, there is an advertisement for Old Mill Cigarettes and a series number. Below is a break down of the various leagues and teams by series.

  • Series 1 - South Atlantic League (aka Sally League): Augusta, Columbia, Columbus, Jacksonville, Macon, Savannah
  • Series 2 - Virginia League: Danville, Lynchburg, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Richmond, Roanoke
  • Series 3 - Texas League: Dallas, Ft. Worth, Galveston, Houston, Oklahoma City, San Antonio, Shreveport, and Waco.
  • Series 4 - Virginia Valley League: Charleston, Huntington, Montgomery, Point Pleasant
  • Series 5 - Carolina Association: Anderson, Charleston, Charlotte, Greensboro, Spartanburg, Winston-Salem
  • Series 6 - Blue Grass League: Frankfort, Lexington, Maysville, Paris, Richmond, Shelbyville, Winchester
  • Series 7 - Eastern Carolina League: Fayetteville, Goldsboro, Raleigh, Rocky Mount, Wilmington, Wilson
  • Series 8 - Southern Association: Atlanta, Birmingham, Chatanoga, Memphis, Mobile, Nashville, New Orleans
  • Sphere: Related Content